Scholarships Committee

Committee Mission & Members

District 8 Student Scholarship Application

DUE DATE:  April 3rd, 2021

The 2021 FWATA Student Scholarship Applications will open for submissions on March 1st and will close April 3rd. The FWATA Scholarships Committee developed a new application process for District 8 athletic training students different from NATA and previous years. Amid 2021, students now have the ability to submit an application fully online via Google Forms. We would like to make this our standard application method going forward, but will be accepting either method this year as a transition period.

*Please note that submitting an application for an undergraduate or graduate scholarship through the National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA Research & Education Foundation) NO LONGER automatically places the applicant eligible for a FWATA scholarship. The student applicant must now submit separate applications for a FWATA ($1,500 award) and NATA ($2,300 award) scholarship.

The Far West Athletic Trainers’ Association currently sponsors ten scholarships to support student membership available to athletic training students within District 8. Recipients of each scholarship receive a $1500.00 monetary award and a plaque. An additional certificate is also presented to the nominating certified athletic trainer of each scholarship recipient. All of the awards are given in order to continue promoting the education and profession of athletic training, as well as recognize some of the outstanding students who represent the future of the Athletic Training profession. Four of the current scholarships are given in memory of individuals who contributed greatly to the growth and success of the profession of Athletic Training.

Please select ONE of the following options to submit your application for 2021

NOTE: Once started, form must be submitted at time of completion, there is no “Save & Finish Later” Option. You will be able to upload transcript and resume to form before submission.

  • OPTION 2: Email completed PDF application to Committee Chair. All attachments must be submitted as individual .pdf files under one email in the following format

Applicant Name: John Smith
General Application: JSmith_GA.pdf
Resume: JSmith_Resume.pdf
Unofficial Transcript: JSmith_UTranscript.pdf

ALL Rec Letters must be submitted by sponsor directly to Scholarship Committee Chair via Email

Scholarship applications are due and must be received in full via email or submitted online by April 3rd, 2021.

Click here for FWATA Scholarship Application



CATA Scholarship | Community College Student

Felix Rivera Memorial Scholarship | Undergraduate Student

Gail Weldon Memorial Scholarship | Undergraduate Student

Jerry Lloyd Memorial Scholarship | Undergraduate Student

Lewis Crowl Scholarship | Undergraduate Student

Bill Chambers Scholarship Endowment | Undergraduate or Graduate Student

Daniel D. Arnheim Scholarship | Graduating Senior or Graduate Student

Julie Max Scholarship | Graduating Senior or Graduate Student

HATA Scholarship | Graduate student from Hawaii or registered in a program in Hawaii

Mark Ando & Ito Family Scholarship | Undergraduate or Graduate Student of Asian Descent

Scott Sailor Scholarship | Undergraduate or Graduate Student

(2018:left to right) Juan Cuevas Scholarships Committee Chair, Sienna Antolin – Mark Ando and Ito Family Scholarship, Jesse Williams – HATA Scholarship, Sandra Godinez – CATA Student Scholarship, Celine Grace Estrada – Lewis Crowl Scholarship, Andee Monterone – Jerry Lloyd Memorial Scholarship, Haley Chizuk – Bill Chambers Scholarship, Brandee Barbee – Julie Max Scholarship, Kumiko Hashida – Felix Rivera Memorial Scholarship, Samuel Arnold – Gail Weldon Memorial Scholarship and Bill Chambers, FWATA Scholarships Committee Member

2020 Scholarship Winners

Hailey Jade Tuesday (University of Hawai’i): Lewis Crowl Scholarship
Grace Davis (University of Idaho): Jerry Lloyd Memorial Scholarship
Melissa Ramos (California Baptist University): CATA Scholarship
Ashley Marie Sink (University of LaVerne): Scott Sailor Scholarship
Joanna Janell Brazzle (University of LaVerne): Julie Max Scholarship
Derek Beeler (University of Hawai’i): Bill Chambers Endowment Scholarship
Josh Batshoun (University of Nevada, Las Vegas): Felix Rivera Memorial Scholarship
Claire Arellano (University of the Pacific): Gail Weldon Memorial Scholarship
Kevan Murgia (California State University, Long Beach): Daniel D Arnheim Scholarship
Jamie Choi Chee Sardinha (University of Hawai’i): Mark Ando and Ito Family Scholarship
Azumi Koyama (University of Hawai’i): HATA Scholarship

Brenda Valdez Nava

Committee Chair

College of the Desert Sports Medicine
Briotix Health Industrial Sports Medicine

Juan Cuevas

Committee Member

Co- Head Athletic Trainer
Fullerton College Sports Medicine

William Chambers



Elizabeth Pateta


Reno Orthopedic Clinic

Yukiya Oba


University of Hawai’i

Mark D’Anza


Durango High School
(702) 799-5850

Far West Athletic Trainers Association