District 8 News from California, Hawaii and Nevada

FWATA 2017 Hall of Fame Day and Annual Awards Banquet

Front row (L-R) - Julie Max-2006, Bill Chambers-1994, Carolyn Greer-2009, Andy Paulin-2009, Cindy Clivio-2016. Back row (L-R)- Robert Kersey-2013, Tom Abdenour-2007, Paul Schechter-2001, Scott Sailor-2014, Carolyn Peters-2017, Hazel Ando- Honors & Awards Chair, Lindsey McLean-1996, Lew Crowl-1994.

FWATA 2017 Hall of Fame Breakfast

Saturday, April 29, 2017 was “FWATA Hall of Fame Day”.  The day started with the Hall of Fame Breakfast where eleven HOF members joined to welcome Carolyn Peters to this prestigious group of FWATA members. “FWATA Hall of Fame Day” concluded with the 2017 Awards Banquet.  All the HOF members in attendance joined Carolyn Peters for a group photo in front of the FWATA Hall of Fame booth.During the banquet, the 530+ attendees enjoyed a delicious dinner while the 25 year members, 50+ year members, FWATA Student Scholarships and Research & Grants Awardees were recognized.



On behalf of the FWATA Scholarship Committee, we’d like to congratulate this year’s winners.  These outstanding individuals were recognized during the Honors and Awards Banquet.

2017 FWATA Scholarship Winners

In the photo from left to right

Mark Ando and Ito Family Scholarship: Margaret Ha (CSU, Fullerton) Lewis Crowl Scholarship: Madison Madewell (University of LaVerne) Jerry Lloyd Memorial Scholarship: Kira Girard (San Diego State University) Felix Rivera Memorial Scholarship: Kumiko Hashida (UNLV) Daniel D. Arnheim Scholarship: Madison Schultze (Chapman University) CATA Scholarship: Jesse Williams (CSU, Fullerton) Bill Chambers Scholarship: Nicholas Hattrup (CSU, Fullerton)


FWATA 2017 Poster Abstract Winners


1st Place: Kipnis CM, Samuel MN, Tandy RD, Wiegand KR, Radzak KN. The acute effects of different foam rolling timing durations on hamstring flexibility.

2nd Place: Kasamatsu TM, Valovich McLeod TC, Register-Mihalik JK, Welch Bacon CE. Concussion education associated with Teachers’ increased familiarity with and recommendation of academic adjustments for adolescents post-concussion.

3rd Place: Sumida MM, Parke EA, Stickley CD, Oshiro RS. The effect of microclimates on assessing risk for thermal stress during athletic participation in Hawai’i.


1st Place: Arthur RJ, Brooks GR, Thompkins IT, Johnson TA, Friesen LM, MacDonald N. The effects of acute exercise-induced dehydration on the Sport Concussion Assessment Tool 3rd Edition.

2nd Place: Aguilar J, Minson M, Garduno A, George K, Friesen L, MacDonald N. The improvement of scapular thoracic mobility and breathing techniques through the use of PRI in adults.


FWATA 2017 Research Grant Recipients Tricia Kasamatsu and Melissa Montgomery

Melissa Montgomery Ph.D., ATC and Randy Harris, ATC

The effects of pulsed dynamic compression on subjective and objective measures of recovery following intense exercise.

Tricia Katsamatsu Ph.D., ATC:

Athletic trainer’s paper versus electronic documentation behaviors:implications for elevating patient care and professional recognition.


Special Recognition Ginger Lei Salera Ehrke

Special Recognition Ruem Malasarn








The FWATA Honors & Awards Special Recognition Awards were presented by Todd Hamburg to Ginger Lei Salera Ehrke and by Kris Boyle-Walker to Ruem Malasarn.


Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Kavin Tsang


Kris Boyle-Walker presented Kavin Tsang PhD, ATC, FWATA’s Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award. “Kavin’s service to FWATA has been extensive and he has represented FWATA on the District and National level with integrity and distinction,” Kris said. “I respect and admire Kavin tremendously. He is a very humble man and serves his profession and professional organization as he feels it is his duty as a member.”



FWATA 2017 Hall of Fame inductee Carolyn Peters


The highlight of the evening was the 2017 Hall of Fame Induction of Carolyn Peters.  Carolyn Greer presented Ms. Peters the award after the induction video. HOF Carolyn Greer said  “I was honored to present Carolyn Peters with the FWATA Hall of Fame award.  Her selfless commitment to the NATA and FWATA is unparalleled.  In addition, her daily commitment to excellence in her work and personal life exemplify the basis for the award.” 



Courtesy of the Honors and Awards Committee

Comments are closed

Far West Athletic Trainers Association